Vous êtes ici: Help Topics > Setup > CaseWare SmartSync > Manage sync copies

Manage sync copies

In a SmartSync environment, collaboration is constantly taking place and many file updates are occurring at the same time. Each sync copy is continually sending changes to and receiving changes from the parent file.

To manage and maintain your synchronization hierarchy, you should consider the following:

  • Only assign the Working Papers file and its documents to a predetermined list of users to reduce the required number of sync copies.
  • Ensure that users never copy SmartSync files using Windows Explorer (copy and paste), as it can attribute sync events to the wrong user and result in a sequence of synchronization conflicts.
  • Assign the appropriate staff to resolve conflicts in a timely manner to prevent excessive and stagnant conflicts.
  • Delete unused sync copies when you are finished with them.

Delete a sync copy

After completing your work in a local sync copy of the file, we suggest that you delete it using Working Papers. When deleting a sync copy from the Working Papers interface, all of your changes are synchronized with the parent file before the sync copy is correctly removed from the hierarchy.

Note: Do not remove sync copies by deleting them in Windows Explorer (selecting the file and pressing the Delete key) as this does not properly disconnect the sync copy from the hierarchy.

To delete a sync copy:

  1. In Working Papers, open the sync copy that you want to delete.
  2. On the ribbon, click SmartSync | Delete Copy.
  3. In the confirmation dialog, click Yes.

The sync copy is deleted. If you want to automatically delete sync copies whenever you close Working Papers, you can do so from Tools | Options | General by modifying the Auto-delete local copy option.

Move a sync copy

If you are organizing your files and need to move a sync copy from its original location, you will want to consider the following:

  • You must move the entire sync copy folder (the folder named clientfilename (Sync)), including the _Sync folder.
  • Do not copy and paste the folder to a new location; move the folder to avoid sync copy duplication issues.
  • Do not move parent files unless all sync copies have been deleted first.
  • You cannot move the sync copy if you are using a peer-to-peer setup.

After moving the sync copy, the next time you open it while online, it will update the sync hierarchy to report the new location.

Abandon sync copies

When you need to make changes to a SmartSync parent file, you are often required to synchronize and delete all sync copies first. In some situations, such as users being offline or workstations being decommissioned, sync copies can become lost or inaccessible, preventing you from modifying the parent file.

To bypass this problem, you can abandon these inaccessible sync copies. Abandoned sync copies will no longer be able to synchronize with the parent file unless they are reconnected.

To abandon sync copies:

  1. Open a sync copy that is connected to the parent file.
  2. Perform a Lock Down (Engagement | Lock Down), Cleanup (Engagement | Clean Up), or Maintenance (Tools | Maintenance) on the file.
  3. In the Wizard, select Abandon Outstanding Synchronized Copies.
  4. Complete the Wizard as required.

The inaccessible sync copies are abandoned. You can now modify the parent file.

Notes:

  • We suggest abandoning sync copies prior to finalizing a Working Papers file.
  • If you open an abandoned sync copy, it will attempt to locate the original parent file. If a parent file is found, ensure it is the original parent file before attempting to reconnect. If a different parent file is found, we strongly suggest you do not connect to it, as it can result in significant synchronization conflicts.
  • If your organization utilizes CaseWare Tracker, you can abandon sync copies from the Tracker interface.

Clear synchronization information

After deleting and abandoning all remaining sync copies, you can clear the synchronization information from the parent file. Clearing synchronization information deletes the _Sync folder and all of its contents from the Working Papers directory, returning the parent file to a non-sync state.

Returning a SmartSync file to a non-sync state is primarily useful when making changes to the parent file or providing the file to users who do not utilize SmartSync.

To clear synchronization information:

  1. Open the parent file in Working Papers.
  2. On the ribbon, click SmartSync | Clear Information.
  3. In the confirmation dialog, click Yes.

The synchronization information is cleared from the parent file. The file is no longer a SmartSync file.